Was the Haotong Li Penalty Under Rule 10.2b(4) Correct?

A great controversy occurred during the Dubai Classic that does not want to leave the news cycle. If you did not see it, basically a professional golfer was assessed a two-stroke penalty for his caddie still being in his line as he started to set up for his putt. The penalty dropped Haotong Li from T3 to T12 and cost the player a fair bit of money (about €100,000 ($150k Cdn – $114k USD). However, that is the least of my concerns because if a golfer breaks the rules, they should be penalized. This is where the controversy stems – the interpretation of the new rule 10.2b(4). Continue reading