The scorecard is the final document used during competitive rounds of golf. It is not a complicated process to record your golf score, but mistakes do happen. Sometimes they are unintentional and other times intentional. I know we do not want to think that some golfers would sandbag the field, but it does happen. Interestingly, golf is one of those unique sports where each player keeps another’s scorecard and attests to their own score. There is a bit of pressure to correctly follow the rules, but not as complicated at we might think.
Here is a quick overview of the do’s and don’ts of filling out a scorecard properly.
I find it interesting that when sandbaggers are caught, they are immediately disqualified. The most interesting aspect of the of filling out the scorecard is saying a player is playing to a higher handicap than they actually hold. This particular ‘error’ is more common than we would hope in competitive golf.
I have not had to place my handicap on a scorecard for years. I play in very few NET events that I have not filled out my scorecard fully for years. But, it is important to know the rules on this aspect of a competitive round.
Lastly, it is important to keep the score of your opponent and yours as well. I do both and scratch out my score after we attest the score. It is important have both scores so that at the end we can double check the score and be able to sign off the scorecard properly. Remember, you are only concerned with your gross score. The rest of the math is filled out by the committee.
Filling out a scorecard properly is key to competitive golf. It is important to know what you as a player is responsible for and what needs to be entered correctly. I am fortunate that I have never been been disqualified for filling out an improper scorecard and after watching the video above, I am confident it will never happen.
I am a grateful golfer! See you on the links!