Hanging On The Edge Of A Cliff

Have you ever had your ball sit on the edge of a hole hoping it would drop? This probably happens about 5 times a year and those few seconds of anticipation can be filled with elation or sorrow. I am not sure if you know, but there is a rule in golf that outlines the process or procedure you follow when waiting for your ball to drop. To highlight my point, Si Woo Kim lived this scenario recently and I think we should see what happened because I do not agree with the ruling!

Continue reading

Accidently Hitting Your Ball On The Putting Green

Accidently hitting my ball during my practice stroke as happened maybe once or twice over the years, but I do not remember it happening to me. However, I won a golf tournament because my opponent did this on the last hole of play. It was a very small local military event and nothing to brag about it for sure. Regardless, I was shocked to see him do this and under the old rules, it was a 1 stroke penalty. Under the new rules, a player can replace their ball without penalty because intent is a factor guiding the new rules. Matthew Wolff found this our a few short days ago.

Continue reading

Replacing a Cut or Scuffed Golf Ball

For many amateurs, like myself, who pay for their golf balls, I try to play my them for as many holes as possible. It is not that I am really cheap, but $5.50 Cdn a golf ball can get expensive if I willy-nilly change my golf all. This propensity to use my golf ball as long as possible leads to a less that favourable playing condition for my white gold. Hence, I pay attention to when I can replace my ball and when I cannot. Not surprisingly, there is a rule that covers this topic and one that if you are in competition is very important.

Continue reading

The Worst Rule In Golf!

Have you ever thought about which golf rule you dislike the most? If you had a choice, which rule would you eliminate from the books? This is a question I ask myself as I started to reread the rule book before starting my Level 1 rules course. After the revamping of the rules in 2019, there is a hold over rule I would like to see changed. I think that with a slight modification, it would greatly enhance an amateurs ability to score will on the links. It is Rule 4.1b.

Continue reading

Rule 15.1a – Removal of Loose Impediment

This particular rule has changed play since it was refined in the 2019 new golf rules release. Basically, any player can remove a loose impediment through the green; so this includes hazards. This is a break from the previous rules and for the most part, I think this is a good change and will help many players improve their game. Specifically, I want to talk about what constitutes a loose impediment. Because history shows that this definition can be applied in very loose contexts.

Continue reading