And So It Begins: The Ryder Cup 2023

The stage is set for the 2023 Ryder Cup. It will be played from Sept. 25-Oct. 1, 2023 at the Marco Simone Golf & Country Club, Rome, Italy. The first order of business was to slect the Captains to lead the way. I think that they are the right leaders for next year’s event.

Image from

I like these selections because of they calm, competitive approach to playing golf. It will be interesting to watch the players scramble to make their respective Ryder Cup Teams. Let the games begin!

I am a grateful golfer! See you on the links!



There is a new ‘individual’ award presented at the Ryder Cup. The Inaugural Nicklaus Jacklin Award focuses on the individual player who embodies three focuses of sportsmanship exemplified by the Ryder Cup: Teamwork, Sportsmanship and Performance. These three tenets of all team sports should be celebrated regardless of what sport is played. Additionally, they should be taught and instilled early in all athletes in order to foster an fun and safe sports environment. I support this new award because it provides an avenue to recognize that some individuals are ‘anchors‘ to their team without being at the center of all the hype.

Following the conclusion of the 43rd Ryder Cup at Whistling Straits, where the U.S. Ryder Cup Team won its second consecutive domestic Ryder Cup, 19-9, Dustin Johnson (U.S.) and Sergio Garcia (Europe) were named the inaugural recipients of the Nicklaus-Jacklin Award presented by Aon. The players were recognized as those who best embodied the spirit of the famous 1969 concession, when Jack Nicklaus conceded a 2-foot putt to Tony Jacklin for a halved match that resulted in the first tie in Ryder Cup history.

This new award commemorates sportsmanship, teamwork and performance in the context of better decision-making. These three attributes that were brought to the forefront by Johnson and Garcia also reflect Aon’s values and commitment to helping clients shape business decisions for the better.

The selection of Dustin Johnson and Sergio Garcia were solid. Both helped their teams in their own way that exemplified the intent of the Inaugural Nicklas – Jacklin Award. They are well respected professional golfers whose prominence will also add some credence to this new award.

Congratulations to both players! I look forward to you representing your respective teams at the next Ryder Cup.

I am a grateful golfer! See you on the links!

Team USA Wins The 43rd Ryder Cup

Team USA won the 43rd Ryder Cup; actually they ran away with the event from the opening tee shot. As I predicated (had to get that in early πŸ˜‰ ) the make up of the winners team was the perfect chemistry. There was no drama on or off the course. I guess it is easy to ride the positive wave if you are winning. Things unfolded much as I had expected…..well, almost. Team Europe never seemed to get things going on any level and Team USA never let up.

Continue reading

The 43rd Ryder Cup – Day One

Team USA is out to a very fast start. Winning six points in the first eight matches, they seem poised to make a strong run to win this year’s Ryder Cup. Since 2008, Team Europe has dominated this competition and it far to early to count them out. My friend, Padraig, from Ireland said that Team Europe “look very ragged at the moment, not holing putts to missing greens”. I agree with him, but again this competition is far from over.

Continue reading