Is This Considered Backstopping?

Remember a few weeks ago when Amy Olson’s ball hit Ariya Jutanugarn ball on the green and stopped near the hole. Social media went crazy and claimed that Olson had breached rule 15.3a that “clearly states that for a breach to occur, that two or more players must agree to leave a ball in place to help any player on her next stroke.” (USA Today) Neither was penalized, but the brew-ha-ha boarded on the edge of insanity if you asked me. So what about this shot?

Continue reading

Adjusting To The New Rules of Golf

After two months of the new rules of golf being in effect, the golfing world has seen some controversy. It is interesting to see what players and fans are choosing to worry about, but that is always the case when major change happens within a community. Golf is no different. Unfortunately, we are still snow bound in the northern climes so it has not affected us that much. But, the potential storm is just on the horizon.

Continue reading