Talking to a Golf Salesman

Can you tell very quickly of a Golf Salesperson knows their stuff? You know, you start chatting with them and they agree with everything you say and start to push specific products because it will definitely “improve your game”! Over the past  few years, I have run into a couple of people who I would not trust and a couple I was okay with. But, I have not run into any I thought really knew their stuff. Has this happened to you? Continue reading

When to Change Your Golf Grips

It is that time of year, when players in Canada, or at least the northern regions, start to look at their equipment for next year. We clean out our golf bag and see the state of our clubs, balls, towels, and most importantly their grips. Recently, I asked how often players they changed their grips. This is what they said:

I like to change my golf grips every year; usually during the off-season. There are many factors to consider when changing your grips and it is important we select the right grip to for you! I dug into my achieves and thought it this a good time to remind everyone that golf season is quickly approaching and it is time to get ready!
Continue reading

Garmin Approach G6

Three weeks ago I went looking for a range finder.  Being in many groups where someone has this tool, I thought it would be something to investigate.  I looked at several types, but did not see their value.  I found them difficult to use.  So I went away still considering my next course of action.  Two weeks ago, I was playing with a friend who received a Garmin Approach G6 for his birthday.  It was his first time using this device, but we found it very valuable because it provided valuable yardages on a course we had not played in years (the Highview Golf Course).  Specifically, we found the distances to the hazards, middle of the fairway and the green extremely helpful.

Garmin Approach G6

Excited about this device, I went to the nearest Golf Town and bought one!  Since my impulsive purchase, I have improved my club selection and approach shots into the green.  Using it 4 times already, it is now an integral part of my game.  The following video gives a very good overview of the device.

The Garmin Approach G6 has 28,000+ preloaded courses, excellent back lighting for in the sun, measures distances, keeps score in four different modes and gives exact distances to from, middle and back of the green.  It fits in your pocket and has a battery that will last up to 15 hours.  Lastly, it has free lifetime uploads of new courses constantly being developed for display.  Overall, it is an excellent device and I am grateful to have purchased it!

Previously, I often wondered if using a GPS or range finder took away from the spirit of the game.  However, after using the device I can honestly say that it is improving my course management, pacing off of distances, and focusing on proper club selection.  So, I have stopped wondering and started using this rules sanction tool.  Do you use a device to help with yardage?  What do you think?

 

 

Saving One Stroke on a Penalty

While watching The Masters on the weekend, it was very obvious that caddies make a concerted effort not to leave the players bags anywhere in their line of sight.  Originally, I thought it was a mental thing, but there appears to be a practical reason for their efforts.

According to the RCGA, rule 19-2. Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped By Player, Partner, Caddie or Equipment states:

If a player’s ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by himself, his partner or either of their caddies or equipment, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke. The ball must be played as it lies, except when it comes to rest in or on the player’s, his partner’s or either of their caddies’ clothes or equipment, in which case the ball must through the green or in a hazard be dropped, or on the putting green be placed, as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball came to rest in or on the article, but not nearer the hole.

After reading this rule, golfers will receive a one-stroke penalty for saving steps.  I knew the rule (actually thought it was a two-stroke penalty) and never paid attention during my regular games.  How many golfers leave their bag in the field of play, then grab a driver and walk to the tee?  How many golfers hit out of the woods or a hazard towards the general direction of their equipment because they were saving time and steps?  If you are like me, I do this every round.  At the Laurentide Golf Course in Sturgeon Falls, Ontario, Canada, it is easy to leave your bag in the next holes fairway.

I was told a funny story many years back by a friend in this similar situation.  He was in a foursome playing their Saturday morning game and the leader of that game was up to hit.  Of course the jokes were flying and they were pestering each other as all good friends do.  Well, the leader of the group hit a line drive off the tee towards all their bags (about 75 yards out).  As the ball made contact, each of the players looked at each other with concern because they could not determine whose bag it actually hit.  After the others hit with no incident, the four friends walked towards their equipment.  The first guy there started to laugh out loud.  As the others approached, he pointed to the leaders bag and showed him a hole in the side of his bag of where the ball went right through.  To make it more painful, the group assessed him a two-stroke penalty instead of one.  The leader was obviously upset and went on to lose their Saturday’s game.  Talk about putting salt in one’s wounds!  I am not sure if that extra penalty stroked caused him to loose the match, but if it did, this situation would be a great reason to read the rules of golf every year!

I have left my bag in the field of play for years and never came close to hitting it.  However, while playing in a tournament I can honestly tell you that my friends story 20 years ago has prompted me to I make sure my equipment is brought to every tee, place my bag well away from the green, and not is any where close when hitting out of the woods.  I am not sure if it ever saved me strokes, however I can tell you for certain it has never cost me any.

Reading the rules is important every year.  Already I have saved myself a one-penalty stroke by reading rule 19-2.  Anybody out there ever hit their  golf equipment?

I am a grateful golfer!  See you on the links!