Sergio Garcia is in the spotlight again. The Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill Golf and Country Club always produces things to talk about. Right now, many media outlets are talking about Garcia’s climb up a tree to play the ball out to the fairway. It can be seen at PGATOUR.COM.
I, however, what to talk about another shot that Sergio made during the second round. Unlike Nicholas Thompson who hit the ball out of the water hazard to within 2 feet of the pin, Garcia hit a ball, it landed on the bank in the hazard and jumped back into the water. He could not play the ball the second time and took a drop adjacent to the spot he took his swing.
While watching, I was confused how they figure out the point of entry in the red staked hazard. I did not see the ball go into the hazard, but must assess that his point of entry into the hazard would not have changed regardless if he tried the shot or not.
I realize this sounds confusing. Well I am confused. I have not encountered this situation before so I need some help. I believe that rule 26 applies, but since he took a shot, missed and it stayed in the hazard….does it still apply? Can someone explain which rule to apply and number of stroke penalty Sergio Garcia should be assessed?
Good morning, Jim. I missed this one, but did watch the tree climbing, which was quite an amazing play. It appeared that Sergio took a nice, tight divot from the tree when he played back to the fairway. I applaud his contact.
Now, to the water hazard issue. Rule 26 sounds like a good place to start, but I’m as confused as you are considering its Monday morning, I just have my coffee, I’m icing my knee & getting ready for a conference call to South Africa!
Did he play a shot from the hazard and proceed to leave it in the hazard? I love weird rulings, so if you have a link to it, can you send?
LikeLike
Sergio hit the ball out of the water (it was sitting with about half of the ball showing). He went too far under the ball and it splashed (excuse the pun) out about 3 feet, hit the bank in the hazard and hopped back into the water. I still think that rule 26 is the right one, but it is hard to know. I have tried to find a video of the shot, but so far have not had any luck.
Cheers
Jim
LikeLike
Pingback: What Golfers Will Do! | The Grateful Golfer | Golf Tips & Golf Rules