While playing a round of golf in a tournament, Tim, Dave, Chris and Kirk were talking quite a bit. They seemed to get along very well and the round was quite pleasant. As they continued through the round Tim and Dave talked the most. While walking down the 12th hole, Tim asked Dave what club he used on the par 3 – 11th tee. Dave, not thinking anything about it said a 7 iron.
On the tee box of the par 3 – 16th hole, Dave asked Tim what club he just used. Tim said 6 iron and was smiling because he hit it on the green. Dave thought for a second, grabbed a 7 iron and hit the ball on to the green as well. Both players two putted and were happy with their par. When they said their score, Chris piped up and said, “Ah, no, that will be a 5 for both of you.”
Both Tim and Dave said, “No Way! A 2 stroke penalty – Really? For What?
Asking for and giving advice. Tim and Dave were not convinced and pulled out the rule book right then and there.
First they looked at the definition of advice which is defined by the 2012 RCGA Rules as “Advice’’ is any counsel or suggestion that could influence a player in determining his play, the choice of a club or the method of making a stroke. Information on the Rules, distance or matters of public information, such as the position of hazards or the flagstick on the putting green, is not advice.
The penalty for breaching the rules falls under Rule 8-1. Advice: During a stipulated round, a player must not:
a. give advice to anyone in the competition playing on the course other than his partner, or b. ask for advice from anyone other than his partner or either of their caddies.
Both players were very disappointed and said they do this all the time. I would suggest we all have given advice during a practice round and never gave it a second thought. It is important to know the rules because during a tournament, it could cost you more than 2 strokes.
I am a grateful golfer. See you on the links!